Home Government

Leadership at Work

Our Town Council is made up of seven elected officials, including the Mayor, and six Councillors. These elected officials provide the guidance and leadership that makes Claresholm what it is. Town Council meets regularly in the Town Council Chambers on the 2nd and 4th Mondays at 7:00 pm.  The public is welcome to all Council meetings. If Monday is a holiday, the meeting will be on Tuesday. Only one meeting is held in the months of July and August, chosen and announced during the year. There may only be one meeting in December as well.

Town Council

From left to right: Councillors Kieth Carlson, Mike Cutler and Kandice Meister, Mayor Chelsae Petrovic, Councillors Brad Schlossberger, Rod Kettles and Craig Zimmer


DownloadDeputy Mayor Schedule

In 2019, the Town of Claresholm underwent a Municipal Accountability Program (MAP) Review by Alberta Municipal Affairs. The final report is available below. 


DownloadMAP Review Report

Message From The Mayor

The Town of Claresholm is strategically located in the heart of Southern Alberta. We are a very diverse, caring, warm, and friendly community that offers a quality of life that is second to none. 

Claresholm is an incredible place to live, work, play, raise families, and grow. We host outstanding recreational facilities, quality health care facilities which include an acute care hospital with attached emergency department and an excellent education system.

Take some time to explore the best that our southern Alberta community has to offer. Enjoy numerous rodeo events, a swim in our indoor pool, walk or ride on our various walking trails, delight in a meal at one of our delicious restaurants or have a unique shopping experience through assorted businesses and markets.

I am proud to be the Mayor of Claresholm and to be part of a dedicated Town Council that strives to serve this great community we call home. To all visitors I would like to say, “Welcome to our community, I hope you are here to stay.” 
Mayor Chelsae Petrovic 

Mayor Chelae Petrovic