Home Government

Municipal Elections

A person is eligible to vote if the person:

In order to vote, your name or the name of the person vouching for you, must appear on the list of electors. If your name does not appear on the list of electors, the person vouching for you must produce identification for inspection. The identification must be one or more of:

as required by Section 53 of the Local Authorities Election Act or local bylaw.

2025 is Municipal Election Year

Municipal Elections in Alberta take place every four years, and 2025 is an Election year.  The next Municipal Election take place on Monday, October 20, 2025.

The municipal election was held Monday, October 18, 2021

To read about the Municipal Election, please visit Alberta Municipal Affairs website https://www.alberta.ca/municipal-elections-overview.aspx.

Election Results


Town of Claresholm By-Election on Monday, September 18, 2023.

Recount of the Councilor ballots on Wednesday, September 20th at 9:00 a.m. confirmed the results. 

Results became official at noon on Friday, September 22, 2023.

Official Results

DownloadOfficial Results

Municipal Election 
Monday, October 18, 2021

MacPherson, Doug   624
Petrovic, Chelsae   828    ELECTED

Carlson, Kieth    963   ELECTED

Cutler, Jamie    534
Cuter, Mike    1,026  ELECTED
Kettles, Rod    927   ELECTED
Meister, Kandice    912   ELECTED

Moore, Gaven   749   
Schlossberger, Brad    1,017   ELECTED
Zimmer, Craig    1,026   ELECTED

**Results became official on Friday, October 22, 2021 at noon.**

By-Election for the position of ONE Councillor
Monday, October 15, 2018

Cutler, Mike     456   ELECTED

Ford, Shelley     175
Sutter, Daryl B.     138

**Results became official on Friday, October 19, 2018 at noon.**

Municipal Election Day was Monday, October 16th, 2017.
October 20, 2017 - 12 Noon - Results are now Official.

 (**** indicates those elected)

Mayor (one position):

479   Fieguth, Betty
554****MacPherson, Doug

492  McAlonan, Mike

Councillors (six positions):

1,071****Carlson, Kieth
637****Courage, Donna

436  Cutler, Jamie
610  Ford, Shelley
395  Meic, Alexander
662****Moore, Gaven

578  O'Neill, Lyal
1,072****Schlossberger, Brad

926****Schulze, Lise

939****Zimmer, Craig

New Council will be sworn in at the Organizational Meeting on Monday, October 23, 2017 at 7:00pm in Council Chambers at the Town Office. The public is welcome to attend.